Break – Free Verse

Coming back after a break

is almost more stressful than starting school.

Did I have any previous work due?

Was there a quiz?

When is the next break?

Teachers are leisurely towards the beginning of a break

but once you come back,

they are even more hard-hitting.

Don’t they know I have a life?

Along with school I have my

extra curricular activities

job and family

and my love life.

I don’t have time to contribute to everything.

Can’t us kids just get a break?

 

I wrote this poem because today was the first day back after a three day weekend: Labor Day weekend. Along with most of my peers, I felt lethargic and unmotivated to get work done. Still, teachers continued to pile on course work. I wrote this poem just as unmotivated as I was to go to school this morning.

 

Cover Photo Credit: Pixabay

1 Comment

  1. I can totally understand where you’re coming from. As a teacher, I feel the pressure from above to pile on work. My hope is that the entire system of education will change in the coming years. I personally believe that as a society addicted to stress and it is very unhealthy. We need to teach young people how to take care of themselves and note be stressed. Easier said than done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

