My Ars Poetica

A poem is a way to express myself without speaking.

A poem can portray an emotion, yet say nothing.

A poem is openness; a void to be filled by me.

A poem can have specific structure, or none at all.

A poem can be personal or detached from myself.

A poem is creativity unrivaled.

A poem has no definition; it is different for me than for you.

A poem puts my words out there for criticism.

A poem lets me hide behind these same words.

A poem lets me say nothing and everything.

 

Today, we watched a reading of Ars Poetica in my writing class. We were then instructed to give our personal definition of poetry. Already, I was thinking poetically and was constructing one in my mind when Ms. Dague instructed us to write the definition with a 10 line poem.

Leave a Reply

