Obsession

My love is unlike any other

Stronger than the love of a mother.

Never will I give it up

Even when I’m all grown up.

 I’ll fight to win it

And you’ll have to submit to it.

At first you might not love me

But eventually you won’t try to flee.

At this point you just don’t understand

How I feel when I hold you in my hand.

Your voice, no matter how loud it goes

Is like a song transposed.

The octaves raise as you increase feeling

And it leaves my mind happily reeling.

You’ve become accustomed to my rage

And no longer try to escape your cage.

Maybe you finally understand my heart

Sadly your breath has already depart.

Although you don’t react to my advances

I still take advantage of these circumstances.

My love for you is a phenomenon

Even though you’re already gone.

Inspiration for this poem came from watching the horror movie love story trailer, Pet. VIEWER DISCRETION ADVISED FOR STRONG BLOODY VIOLENCE, GRISLY IMAGES, LANGUAGE, AND BRIEF SEXUALITY; TRAILER IS RATED R, WATCH WITH CAUTION.

Cover Photo Credits: Pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

