Monstrous Love – A Short Story: Chapter Seven

Monstrous Love

Chapter Seven – Shay

          In my weakened state, I managed to sleep through the entire weekend. Waking up early Monday morning, I felt my hunger rattle through my bones. I don’t know how much longer I can go without even a snack.

          Making my way downstairs, I see David and Julie standing there, looking at me worriedly. “What’s wrong, guys?” I ask.

          “We might have to leave sooner than expected,” Julie says, arms folded against her chest, “that little football player of yours is a Vetala.”

          My eyes practically bulge out of their sockets. “What? Are you sure?”

          “All I had to do was touch him, and I knew. My question is, why didn’t you notice? I’m sure you came in contact with him plenty of times!” Julie growls.

          “I-I guess I was just enjoying myself too much. I never thought of the possibility of another monster arriving.” I look down, feeling as though this is actually what being scolded by parents is like.

          “Vetala usually travel in pairs, too. So, who’d he bring with?” David speaks up.

          “Oh, no. His best friend, Jaxon, who is also hitting things off with Elizabeth! I need to go make sure she’s fine.” I make a move to leave only to be stopped.

          “They’re probably long gone by now. I spooked the Vetala that brought you here, and he looked like he’d run halfway across the country just to get away from me. So, act normal. Don’t look suspicious, and if this Human friend of yours brings either of them up, play dumb.” Julie then hands me my bag and shoos me out the door. “Remember, we’re Human, too!”

          I walk through the front doors of the school and make my way to my locker. I still haven’t seen any sign of Elizabeth, so presumably she’s just running late. I open my locker and stuff my math textbook inside. I shut it, and practically have a heart attack at the face directly next to mine.

          “Leo! Oh my God! You scared me!” I say, putting a hand over my racing heart. Processing who it is, I freeze, looking up at him.

          “Can we talk?” He asks, stuffing his hands in the front pockets of his jeans. Nodding, I swallow and follow him to an empty stairwell.

          “So, what do you want to talk about?” I ask, remembering the last time I said those words and ending up with Leo’s number.

          “I’m just going to come right out and say it: your parents are monsters.” Leo says, a look of relief gracing his features as though it was weighing heavily on him.

          “Yeah? I know that.” I say, not sure at this point where the conversation is going.

          “W-what? You knew that? How can you live there not worried about what might happen to you?” He exclaims.

          “Leo, you know I’m Leviathan too, right?”I ask him.

          “What’s a Leviathan?” Leo asks, looking at me with confused eyes.

          “Leviathans are monsters that are immortal. We predate humans, demons, angels, and the soul itself. We are the original beings essentially, and monsters are descendants of us.” I explain, watching his reaction. “We feed on Humans, have super strength, are practically invulnerable, and shape-shift.”

          “Oh. So, you do that weird mouth thing, too?” Leo asks, eyes breaking away from mine.

          “Yeah, but only when I feed. It’s kind of gross in my opinion.” I scratch the back of my neck.

          “So, does that mean I’m a descendant of yours since I’m a Vetala?”

          Because I’d come to terms with the fact that I like Leo, his choice of wording grossed me out a bit. “Yes and no. You descended from Leviathans, but you are not actually related to me.”

          He sighs, a smile gracing his lips. “That’s a relief. I didn’t want to have to ignore my feelings.” Before I could question him, he grabbed my wrist, pulling me in until our faces were just centimeters apart. Leo breathes out shakily, his breath ghosting over my lips, before he leans in, connecting them.

          As we kiss, I began feel something poking my lip. I open my eyes and pull away, Leo grins cheerfully, canines extended and eyes even more blue than usual. I can’t help but smile back, grabbing his jacket and pulling him close to me again.

 

Cover Photo Credit: Pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

