Play

You played with my heart strings

as if they meant nothing at all.

You hurt me in a way that will never

be undone no matter who comes along.

You created a monster inside of me

whose hunger won’t be satisfied until I am gone.

You stole the most important aspects of me:

my light, my dignity, my pride, my hope.

You played me as a fool,

one who would be broken into a million pieces.

You must have been right because here I am:

still running after you who threw me away.

You built me up just to break me down

and created false hope to take away.

You used my feelings to feed off what I had

to give: love, money, and happiness.

You played me

and I’d let you do it again.

Cover Photo Credit: Pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

